Israel bans travel to the United States

Israel bans travel to the United States

Israel has banned travel to the United States in response to an outbreak of the highly contagious Omicron variant of the coronavirus. On Monday, Israel added the ally to its "no-fly" list. According to a report by Reuters, a UK-based news outlet.

The new decision will take effect on Tuesday. As a result, Israeli citizens will need special permission to travel to the United States until further notice.

In a televised speech on Sunday, Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett said the government had taken some time to decide on an immediate travel ban when the first Omicron was identified last month.

In the current situation, Bennett said, there is a risk that the infection will increase in a few weeks.

On Monday, cabinet members voted in favor of keeping the United States, Italy, Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Morocco, Portugal, Canada, Switzerland and Turkey on the no-fly roster, according to a statement from Bennett's office.

The statement said 134 Omicron had been identified in Israel so far. 

Meanwhile, the top infectious disease specialist in the United States. Anthony Fawcett fears that traveling around Christmas will increase the risk of omikron infection. Infections will increase even among those receiving the full dose of the vaccine.

On the NBC's Meet the Press program on Sunday. "Omicron has a huge ability to infect," Fawcett said. There is no doubt about it. "

"People need to adhere to precautions such as wearing masks and maintaining social distance," he said.

Post a Comment